As of 2009, all commercial buildings over 10,000 square feet and residential units adding one or more dwelling units must complete a green building checklist. Commercial buildings over 10,000 square feet must complete an energy analysis (recommended for multi-family residential).
Estimated costs of utilities must be disclosed to tenants in the form of a "budget plan" by rental properties.
Landlords and sellers must disclose the energy performance of buildings to renters/buyers. Commercial buildings must also disclose energy usage data to the EPA and State Department of Energy. Violations are subject to civil penalties. Additionally, buildings and homes meeting energy efficiency criteria may be eligible for property tax exemption.
Energy audits are required for all residential and multi-family homes after construction and before homes are sold. Audits are good for 10 years. Disclosure of the energy audit results is mandatory and in the case of multi-family homes, must be posted in specified locations for tenants to access. In cases where energy usage exceeds 150% of average homes, the owner is given 18 months to conduct retrofits.
This bill proposes to requirethe seller or agent to complete a statement of energy performance at the time a commercial or residential building or unit is offered for sale; to inform potential buyers of their right to obtain the statement; and to supply the statement to a buyer prior to any such sale.
Virginia Beach is creating an Energy Improvement Plan, which will include a "Green Fleet" program that requires all new buildings be LEED certified. Energy audits will be performed on selected buildings. Net metering and energy audits are encouraged for residential structures.
Relates to home energy rating systems, energy efficiency, conservation and weatherization for certain programs of the state Housing and Finance Corporation; prohibits the Corporation from making or participating in the making of, or the purchase of a loan for a residential building, if construction began after a certain date unless the building complies with thermal and lighting energy standards; and requires certification and training for contractors, architects, engineers and building inspectors.
The residential code covers energy conservation audit requirements. Prior to the sale or exchange of a home, the home must have an energy audit to determine compliance with the energy conservation standards of Roseville.
Energy disclosure is mandatory for all new and existing homes in Kansas. It is the responsibility of the builder or owner when a home is sold to disclose such information to the buyer.
In addition to the state energy goals of reducing fossil fuel usage by 15% by 2015 and increasing the total renewable energy use to 25%, the Next Generation Energy Act requires utilities to provide technical assistance for all residential and commercial projects that incorporate green building practices in their construction.
Expanding Building Efficiency Incentives Act of 2009. The 1986 Internal Revenue Code will be amended to include an extension and modification of the new energy efficient home credit and guidelines on energy rating of non-business property, including home inspection ratings.
Incentives are provided to utility customers (residential and commercial) in purchasing renewable energy services. Energy audits are required before funding is given.