Michigan

Current News: 

In the final stages of adopting the 2015 IECC and ASHRAE 90.1-2013 wth amendments for commercial buildings, next public hearing to receive comments on proposed amendments is October 25, 2016.  Part 10a Michigan Energy Code is proposed to be effective 120 days after filing with the Secretary of State.  http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-10575---,00.html

 

"The 2015 Part 10. Michigan Energy Code was filed with the Secretary of State on October 9, 2015, and becomes effective on February 8, 2016. The 2015 Part 10. Michigan Energy Code will adopt by reference the 2015 edition of the International Energy Conservation Code with amendments, deletions, and additions deemed necessary for use in Michigan. The 2015 Part 10. Michigan Energy Code is chapter 11 in the 2015 Michigan Residential Code which will be available through ICC website in late November.” Commercial code remains unchanged. http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-10575_17394_17412---,00.html

Current Code:
ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2007 with Amendments
Amendments / Additional State Code Information: 2009 Commercial MI Uniform Energy Code Rules
Approved Compliance Tools: Can use COMcheck
Approximate Energy Efficiency: Equivalent to ASHRAE 90.1-2007
Effective Date:
Mar. 09, 2011
Adoption Date:
Nov. 08, 2010
Code Enforcement:
Mandatory
DOE Determination: ASHRAE 90.1-2007: Yes
ASHRAE 90.1-2010: No
ASHRAE 90.1-2013: No

Energy cost savings for Michigan resulting from the state updating its commercial and residential building energy codes in accordance with federal law are significant, estimated to be on the order of nearly $230 million annually by 2030.

Michigan DOE Determination Letter, May 31, 2013

Michigan State Certification of Commercial and Residential Building Energy Codes


Current Code:
2015 IECC with Amendments
Amendments / Additional State Code Information:

Administrative and other minor amendments can be found in Part 10, Michigan Energy Code  and Part 5, Residential Code of the
Construction Code.

Amendments include but are not limited to:

N1102.4.1.2 (R402.4.1.2). Testing (prescriptive). The building or dwelling unit shall be

tested and verified as having an air leakage rate of not exceeding 4 air changes per hour.

Testing shall be conducted with a blower door at a pressure of 0.2” w.g. (50 pascals).

Where required by the code official, testing shall be conducted by a certified independent third party.

 

Table N1102.1.1/R402.1.1 Insulation and Fenestration Table amendments

  • Ceilings:  climate zone 5 – R38 instead of R49
  • Wood-framed walls:  climate zone 6 and 7 – R20 or R13 + 5 instead of R20 or R13 + 10 and first value is cavity insulation, second is continuous insulation or insulated siding, so “13 + 5” means R-13 cavity insulation plus R-5 continuous insulation or insulated siding. If structural sheathing covers 40% or less of the exterior, continuous insulation R-value may be reduced by no more than R-3 in the locations where structural sheathing is used – to maintain a consistent total sheathing thickness.
  • Basement walls:  climate zone 5 – R10/13 instead of R15/19

Section N1102.1.4/R402.1.4 and Table N1102.1.3/R402.1.3 U-factor Table amendments

  • Ceilings:  climate zone 5 – 0.030 instead of 0.026
  • Wood-framed walls:  climate zone 5 – 0.057 instead of 0.060 and climate zones 6 and 7 – 0.057 instead of 0.045
  • Basement walls:  climate zone 5 – 0.059 instead of 0.050
  • Mass Walls:  u-factors unchanged except an added footnote for when more than half the insulation is on the interior; the mass wall u-factors shall be a maximum of 0.065 in zone 5 and 0.057 in zones 6 and 7, respectively.



Approved Compliance Tools:
Approximate Energy Efficiency: Less energy efficient than 2015 IECC
Effective Date:
Feb. 08, 2016
Adoption Date:
Oct. 09, 2015
Code Enforcement:
Mandatory
Jurisdictions:
DOE Determination: 2009 IECC: Yes
2012 IECC: Yes
2015 IECC: No

Energy cost savings for Michigan resulting from the state updating its commercial and residential building energy codes in accordance with federal law are significant, estimated to be on the order of nearly $230 million annually by 2030.

Michigan DOE Determination Letter, May 31, 2013

Michigan State Certification of Commercial and Residential Building Energy Codes
Code Change Process:
Regulatory
Code Change Cycle:
Reviewed
Timeline of Cycle:
Every 3 years

State Owned / Funded Buildings

All state-funded new construction and major renovation projects over $1,000,000 must be built in accordance with LEED guidelines. Executive Order #2005-4

Adoption Process

The state energy code is evaluated for revisions or modifications every three years. The new code requirements are adopted at the beginning of each state building code cycle (which corresponds with the three-year cycle of the Building Officials and Code Administrators [BOCA] International, National Building Code [NBC]).

Enforcement Process

The local code official is designated to enforce the state energy requirements. Enforcement is completed through plan review and inspections. The Bureau of Construction Codes, Department of Consumer and Industry Services, interprets the code and enforces it in those jurisdictions in which the Bureau has enforcement responsibilities.

Compliance Process

Compliance is determined by plan review and inspection by the local code official or state building official.

Background

Prior to June 22, 1977, the state of Michigan had no building energy efficiency requirements. As of that date, the state adopted ASHRAE/IES Standard 90-1975 statewide. On July 27, 1985, the state adopted ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90A-1980 statewide.

SB 719, signed in early January 1996, repealed the 1995 adoption of the 1993 MEC. The legislation directed the state construction code commission to, by April 1, 1997, provided cost-effective standards and establish a program to provide home buyers with energy rating information. A 10-member ad hoc committee was established to assist with these efforts.

The Michigan Uniform Energy Code Part 10 Rules were adopted March 31, 1999. In 2002, the Department of Labor & Economic Growth (DLEG) established a committee to review and update Michigan's Uniform Energy Code. After review and promulgation of the code, the Ingham County Circuit Court issued an injunction to halt the February 28, 2005, effective date of the rules in response to a lawsuit by the Michigan Association of Home Builders (MAHB). The new code has since been pending litigation for the last three and a half years.

On October 24, 2008, the judge presiding over the litigation dismissed the MAHB complaint and dissolved the lawsuit, making the rules effective immediately. Therefore, every unit of government enforcing the single state construction code must apply the 2003 Michigan Uniform Energy Code to newly issued permits. The 2003 MUEC is based on the 2003 International Residential Code (IRC) with references to the 2004 IECC supplement.