Federal Buildings

The DOE Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP) updates energy efficiency standards for federal buildings, as required under the Energy Conservation & Production Act (ECPA). (42 USC 6834 & 6835):


  • Current Standard: ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90.1-2013
  • Effective: January 5th, 2016

The full requirements for federal commercial buildings are contained in 10 CFR 433.


  • Current Standard: 2015 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC)
  • Effective: March 13th, 2017

The full requirements for federal residential buildings are included in 10 CFR 435.

Technical Assistance

In addition, FEMP offers guidance and support to government agencies working to comply with the federal standards. This includes webcasts and several resources surrounding the efficiency requirements and associated costing. More information on federal building energy efficiency standards and related technical assistance is provided by the Federal Energy Management Program.