Energy Codes Around the World: A Joint NECC x EBC Session

Special Edition National Energy Codes Conference Webinar

Energy Codes Around the World: A Joint NECC x EBC Session
24 November 2020 15:00 – 16:45 UTC/GMT
(4 pm Rome, 7 am Seattle, 11 pm Singapore, 10 am Washington, D.C.)

Join us for a unique opportunity to virtually travel around the globe and learn how energy codes are developed and implemented! In this special edition webinar, we’ll hear from energy code experts in several countries as they present and lead discussions on emerging energy code issues including developing codes for changing climates, net-zero energy building code initiatives, and codes for existing buildings.

What is EBC? In June 2019, the International Energy Agency’s Energy in Buildings and Communities Programme (EBC) approved the creation of the Building Energy Codes Working Group (BECWG) to foster stronger collaboration globally on building energy codes. As part of the Working Group’s first annual symposium, the BECWG is holding this webinar in collaboration with the NECC. The BECWG has 15 participating countries including Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States.

Agenda

Introduction

  • Mr. David Nemtzow, U.S. Department of Energy (BECWG Chair)

An overview of codes around the world

  • Ms. Meredydd Evans, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, U.S.

Developing codes for changing climates

  • Mr. Siew Hwa Yong, Building and Construction Authority, Singapore
  • Dr. Ellen Franconi, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, U.S.

Net-zero energy building initiatives in codes

  • Dr. Vincenzo Corrado, Department of Energy - Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Mr. Alex Ferguson, CanmetENERGY, Natural Resources Canada

Codes for existing buildings

  • Mr. Greg Fairthorne, Codes Canada, National Research Council
  • Ms. Gina Bocra, New York City Department of Buildings

Note:  Continuing education credits will not be offered for this event. 

Type of Event: 
Webinar
Date: 
11/24/2020 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Time Zone: 
Eastern Time
Location: 
Virtual
Sponsor: 
International Energy Agency’s Energy in Buildings and Communities Programme (EBC)