
REGULATORY PROCESS IN VIRGINIA 

Standard Regulatory Process 

**NONSTANDARD REGULATORY PROCESS** 

Emergency regulations (§ 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia) 

• Sometimes the General Assembly passes a law requiring an emergency regulation, while at other 
times the promulgating agency may determine that a regulation is necessitated by an emergency 
situation. The three-step process for standard regulatory actions does not apply to emergency 
regulations.  

• An emergency regulation can take effect on the day it is filed for publication in the Virginia 
Register. An emergency regulation may be effective for no more than 12 months, unless an 
additional six-month extension is authorized by the Governor.  

• Since an emergency regulation will expire, the agency usually begins the normal three-step 
regulatory process at the same time that the emergency is filed for publication in the Virginia 
Register.  

Exempt regulations (§§ 2.2-4002 and 2.2-4006 of the Code of Virginia) 

• Sometimes the General Assembly passes a law allowing the agency to skip the standard three-
step regulatory process described above. Most exempt regulations are published in final form 
only; however, some exempt actions include notice and publication of proposed text.  

Fast-track regulations (§ 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia) 

• The fast-track rulemaking process is for regulations that are expected to be noncontroversial. If 
the Governor determines that a regulation is noncontroversial, the agency may publish the fast-
track rulemaking in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A public comment period of at least 30 
days follows publication of the fast-track rulemaking.  

• A fast-track regulation can become effective as early as 45 days from publication in the Virginia 
Register.  

• If objections to the regulatory action are raised by any of the following during the comment period, 
the fast-track rulemaking process ends and the rulemaking continues under the normal regulatory 
process (starting with Step 2):  

o Any member of the applicable standing committee of the Senate,  
o Any member of the applicable standing committee of the House of Delegates,  
o Any member of the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR), or  
o Any objection from 10 or more members of the public.  

• If there are no objections as described above, the regulation becomes effective 15 days after the 
close of the public comment period, unless the regulation is withdrawn or a later effective date is 
specified by the agency.  

 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/regprocessstandard.htm
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/regprocess.htm
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4002
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4006
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4012.1

