Skip to main content


State Profile

Code Type: Commercial Residential
Current State Code ASHRAE 90.1-2007 2018 IECC with amendments
Effective Date
Adoption Date
State Amendments No No
State Code Analysis*
Enforcement Mandatory Statewide Mandatory Statewide
Can use COM/REScheck Yes Yes


Model Code Savings Potential

Statewide Savings Potential (2010-2030) Residential Commercial
Cost $1.01B $0.49B
Energy (primary) 94MBtu 60MBtu

Consumer Cost Savings

Consumer Cost Savings Residential
per Home
per 1,000 ft2
Annual ($) $411 $144
Annual (%) 21.1%
Life-cycle (30 year) $5826 $1700
Simple Payback 3.8 years 6.7 years
Positive Cash Flow 0.5 years


Code Type: Residential Commercial
Field Study No No
Training Program No No

Additional Information



    The first statewide energy code was adopted December 1, 1979. The code was based on the 1977 "Model Code for Energy Conservation in New Building Construction." It applied to both residential and commercial structures. Modifications to this code dealt with non-technical administrative issues. On October 1, 1984, a revised code, the IECC (1984 edition), became effective statewide. This code was based on the 1983 MEC with state amendments and applied to all residential and commercial construction.

    On December 31, 1992, the IECC (1992 edition) became effective. This code is based on the 1992 MEC with state amendments and is applicable to all residential and commercial structures. The HVAC requirements were updated to comply with the National Appliance Energy Conservation Act. The electrical power and lighting requirements of the 1979 code were retained.

    During its September 6, 2006 meeting, the Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission decided not to pursue the adoption of the IECC as a commercial code for Indiana. It would continue to enforce the Indiana Energy Code of 1992.

    In February 2009, legislators in the House of Representatives of the Indiana General Assembly introduced HB 1348 that required the state to adopt the latest edition of either the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) or ASHRAE Standard 90.1 by July 1, 2010, and any subsequent editions within two years of their publication. A companion Senate bill was also introduced, though it only called for adoption of the latest IECC by July 1, 2010, and adoption of subsequent editions 18 months after their publication. Governor Mitch Daniels vetoed HB 1348.

    On March 2, 2010, the Fire Prevention and Safety Commission approved the 2009 Indiana Energy Conservation Code, which adopts ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2007. The Rule was submitted to the Attorney Generals Office for approval, was signed by the Governor and became effective on May 5, 2010.

    On November 2, 2011, Indiana adopted the amendments to the 2005 Indiana Residential Code that will make it approximately as energy efficient as the 2009 IECC. The new residential code Became effective on April 5, 2012.

    State-Owned/Funded Buildings

    On June 28, 2008, Governor Daniels signed Executive Order 08-14, requiring all new state buildings to earn LEED Silver certification, the EPA Energy Star rating, two Globes under the Green Globes rating system, or the equivalent under an ANSI accredited rating system. The EO also requires that all renovations of existing state buildings must follow LEED, Green Globes, or other guidelines.

    Adoption Process

    The Fire and Building Code Enforcement Branch under the Division of Fire and Building Safety encourages the development of new building codes. Changes to the energy code are first processed through a technical advisory committee that reviews the current model code, considers the changes for adoption, and proposes changes to the code. This process usually takes a year or more to complete.

    A  "Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule" is published in the Indiana Register for a period of 60 days and financial impact analysis is submitted to the State Budget Agency for approval. The proposed model code with amendments is then submitted to the Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission for approval to be published in the Indiana Register.

    A public hearing is held to obtain any public comments on the published proposed rule. Changes are incorporated and approved by the Commission, and the final rule is sent to the State Attorney General and then the Governor for signature.

    The maximum time allowed for review is 45 days for the Attorney General and an additional 30 days for the Governor. After final approval, and signing by the Governor, the rule is filed with the Legislative Services Agency to become effective at least 30 days later. New codes, such as building, fire, mechanical and fuel gas, generally have an effective date of 90 days after filing to allow for the transition to the new codes.

    Enforcement Process

    The local building official is responsible for the enforcement of the requirements for all one- and two-family dwellings (Class 2).

    Plans and specifications for Class 1 structures must be filed with the Plan Review Section of the Division of Fire and Building Safety. Plans and specifications for Class 2 structures must be submitted when required by the building official. Field inspections are performed prior to the issuance of a certificate of occupancy.

    The state provides reviews of plans for all new nonresidential buildings and residential buildings other than one- and two-family dwellings (Class 1) and provides field inspections on buildings where no approved local building official exists.

    The Division of Fire and Building Safety is responsible for enforcement of the energy requirements for all Class 1 buildings and industrialized building systems.

    Compliance Process

    Compliance pathways and plan submittal requirements are those contained in the Indiana General Administrative Rules (GAR). All Class 1 buildings (buildings other than one- and two-family dwellings) require plans to be filed with the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, Division of Fire and Building Safety, Plan Review Section, including an Application for Construction Design Release that requires energy design data. Designs must be stamped by a licensed engineer or architect when required by the General Administrative Rules. Some local jurisdictions require proof of compliance for Class 2 buildings (one- and two-family dwellings).