Skip to main content


State Profile

Code Type: Commercial Residential
Current State Code None Statewide None Statewide
Effective Date
Adoption Date
State Amendments
State Code Analysis*
Can use COM/REScheck Applicable by County or Jurisdiction Applicable by County or Jurisdiction


Previous Model Code
ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2007
Previous Model Code
2009 IECC

Model Code Savings Potential

Statewide Savings Potential (2010-2030) Residential Commercial
Cost $1.71B $2.29B
Energy (primary) 142MBtu 252MBtu

Consumer Cost Savings

Consumer Cost Savings Residential
per Home
per 1,000 ft2
Annual ($) $305 $120
Annual (%) 15.3%
Life-cycle (30 year) $327 $2660
Simple Payback 5.7 years 0.0 years
Positive Cash Flow 0.8 years


Code Type: Residential Commercial
Field Study No No
Training Program No No

Additional Information



    In 1999, the Joint Legislative Energy Efficiency Code Study Committee was formed by the Arizona legislature to discuss possible adoption of energy efficiency codes. The committee recommended the adoption of an energy code that is voluntary, incentive-based, and significantly reduces energy usage. As a result of the Committee's recommendations, the Arizona Legislature introduced and enacted House Bill (HB) 2322.

    HB 2322 required the Arizona Department of Commerce Energy Office to draft an Arizona Energy Efficiency Code, which was voluntary and based on the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) and ASHRAE standards. Based on the results of those efforts, the state legislature subsequently passed HB 2541, which resulted in Arizona Law 2001, Chapter 340. This statute established the Arizona State Energy Code and further established a State Energy Code Advisory Commission to review and recommend changes to the state energy code.

    Legislation adopted in 2003, required state agencies and universities to achieve a 10% reduction in energy use per unit of floor area by 2008, and a 15% reduction by 2011.

    On February 11, 2005, Gov. Janet Napolitano signed Executive Order 2005-05, requiring all new state-funded buildings constructed after February 11, 2005, to achieve at least a Silver LEED green building rating, as well as meet the energy standards of ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2004.

    Arizona statute A.R.S.34-451 issued in 2008 adopted energy conservation standards for capital projects, including buildings designed and constructed by school districts, community college districts, and universities. The Department of Commerce selected ASHRAE Standard 90.1-2004 as the code, a prerequisite for LEED certification.

    State-Owned/Funded Buildings

    All state-funded buildings must achieve Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Silver certification. Executive Order #2005-05 also requires newly constructed state-funded buildings to incorporate renewable energy.

    Adoption Process

    Arizona is a home rule state, thus codes are adopted and enforced on a local level. The State Energy Code Advisory Commission will review the state energy code through an open, voluntary, and consensus process. The advisory commission will also perform cost benefit analyses of potential state incentives for the use of energy saving devices and methods and provide annual reports on its findings.

    Enforcement Process

    No mandatory energy inspection procedures exist at the state level for any building construction. Local enforcement agencies are responsible for enforcing local energy codes.

    Compliance Process

    Arizona is a home rule state, thus codes are adopted and enforced on a local level. A number of code jurisdictions throughout the state accept participation in ENERGY STAR and other programs as a code compliance method.